River Watch Header Image

Action Alert! Stop Eureka’s 101 Bypass Through Restored Coastal Marsh!

When: Tuesday, April 17, at 6 pm Where: Eureka Council Chambers, 2nd floor of Eureka City Hall, 531 “K” Street, Eureka

The Coastal Commission has gone on record saying the project—a proposal to punch a new road through the Palco Marsh from Del Norte Street to Truesdale–cannot be approved because it is not consistent with either the Coastal Act or the City of Eureka’s own Local Coastal Program, which governs coastal development in the city. In 2005, Peter Douglas wrote to the City, “Because this project cannot, in our view, be approved consistent with the Coastal Act, we respectfully urge the city not to expend any additional public resources in pursuit of it.” How much more taxpayer money is the City going to waste on this project?

The City has already spent hundreds of thousands of dollars—mostly state funding—on the EIR process over the past 10+ years, without any final product that would be consistent with state law. The project would also destroy what progress has been made on restoring Palco Marsh and planning for the restoration of Parcel 4 behind the Bayshore Mall—restoration projects that have been funded with taxpayer dollars from the Coastal Conservancy and other agencies.

This proposal would impact coastal wetlands, important bird habitat, rare plants, water quality, cultural resources, and public open space. It would violate the City’s own General Plan, which vows to protect environmentally sensitive habitat areas as required by the Coastal Act.

It’s time to give up the Waterfront Drive Extension, just as the Eureka Freeway Bypass was abandoned in 1995. Let the Eureka City Council know how you feel about 4000-8000 vehicles driving through a wildlife sanctuary every day! Tuesday, April 17, at 6 pm in the Eureka Council Chambers on the 2nd floor of Eureka City Hall at 531 “K” Street, Eureka

To call or email your concerns, contact:

Dave Tyson, City Manager

441- 4144 dtyson@ci.eureka.ca.gov Mayor Frank Jager

441- 4200 fjager@ci.eureka.ca.gov Marian Brady

441- 4169 mbrady@ci.eureka.ca.gov Linda Atkins

441- 4168 latkins@ci.eureka.ca.gov Mike Newman

441- 4170 mnewman@ci.eureka.ca.gov Melinda Ciarabellini

441- 4167 mciarabellini@ci.eureka.ca.gov Lance Madsen

441- 4171 lmadsen@ci.eureka.ca.gov